HOST FAMILY

Before I knew my host family I just knew when I was going to leave: August. That was all for a few months, then in May a call came: it was WEP (my exchange organization) and they told me that an host-family picked me, but before I knew who was the family I need to agree to eat vegetarian for a year. I was skeptical at first, many doubts were on my mind: maybe if I don’t accept this family nobody will choose me;  I will not eat meat for an entire year, should I accept still? I wasn’t sure about choosing until I knew who they were. They sent me their application and there, when I saw my host-mum face something sparkled in me. I was totally sure about them: they were my new family.

There was another ‘problem’: my host-family would hosted another exchange student. It wasn’t that big deal actually, I was totally fine with it. I thought that I could share my problems or my experience with someone that would possibly understand me and that would it be very nice.

So right now I’m in Michigan, as I’ve already said, living in a beautiful house, with wonderful people. There’s my host-mum: Marti; host-dad: Jeremy; host-sister: Libby, and Nora the exchange student from Germany.

Pretty cool, uh? 

img_9460
My  host family!


  • But if you were me what would you have  done?
8 thoughts on “HOST FAMILY

  1. Hi Miranda!

    So nice to hear that you are happy with your host family! I do not know what I would have done if I found out my host family did not eat meat. So you are really brave to go along with it before you even met them.
    Is it hard to live without meat?
    Is the vegetarian food good?

    How do you like living with another exchange student? Do you like it?

    Sincerely, Moa!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Moa! Thanks for your nice words!
      The vegetarian food is actually pretty good since my host dad is really good at cooking but I’m still eating meat sometimes when we go to the pub or out for dinner. It’s not hard as I thought.
      Living with another exchange student it’s pretty fun actually, we have much in common and I love to talk to her about my day and learn another culture at the same time as the american one!

      with love,
      Miranda.

      Like

  2. Hey Miranda, I think if I were in your shoes and asked about being vegan I would be scared too. Thinking the family wouldn’t want me but what if I turned this down? And no one wants me? I would have done the exact same thing as you did as to stop eating meat.

    Like

  3. Hey Miranda, I’m so glad to hear that you are liking it here in america so far. I think it’s amazing to visit and live in a completely different place for a whole year. You even changed the way you ate. That’s so amazing how you were willing to change something you always knew to something totally new. I’m so excited to read more of your blogs. A few questions I have are:
    How are you like vegetarian food so far? Is It something you think you might continue?

    Like

    1. Hi Aubree! Thank you for your nice words!
      So far the vegetarian food is really good. I was always hesitant to try something different; for example I’ve never eaten broccoli or tofu and now I really like them. It was a surprise even from me! I don’t think I might continue be a “vegetarian” because when we go out for dinner I always order something with chicken or meat. I actually miss eating prosciutto or salame, and when I’ll go home I’ll definitely eat tons of it.

      with love,
      Miranda.

      Like

  4. Miranda,
    Your blog post was so fun to read! I am intrigued about your experience so far as an exchange student here in Michigan. I think it is amazing that you came to a different country where you barely knew the family you were staying with and you changed the way you eat. I have family in Venezuela and France and I would love to spend a year living with them, experiencing their culture way more than I ever have in the past. If my family in Venezuela and France had told me I had to be vegetarian I most likely would still go because giving up meat would be worth it for all the experiences I would have in a different country.
    What is your favorite activity you have done in Michigan so far? What is your favorite food that you have had here?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Shenika! Thank you for your nice words!
      So far this year is going very well! I was in the volleyball Varsity team and that was the best experience I’ve had so far! I loved (still do actually) my teammates and my coaches!
      I was so afraid at first but with time and thanks to them it felt like I had always been part of this team.
      With my host family we always go on Friday at the pub and there I had the best wrap ever! I always just order that with (of course) curly fries -they had waffle fries before, but they change it and I’m really disappointed-.

      with love,
      Miranda.

      Like

Leave a Reply

